1. Home
  2. -
  3. Civil Traffic/Infractions

Civil Traffic/Infractions

The Traffic division of the clerk’s office handles all moving and non-moving traffic citations and local boating/fishing/other infractions issued to persons in Bradford County. We collect fines, fees and service costs associated with those citations/infractions, provide a website for approved driving schools, and set court dates for those who wish to contest their citation/ infraction violation.

If you are charged with a criminal violation (D.U.I., driving with a suspended license, driving without a valid driver’s license etc.), you must call the county criminal traffic (misdemeanor) division at (904) 966-6261 within 10 days of the citation.

If you are charged with a civil infraction (careless driving, speeding etc.) you must elect one of the following three options within 90 days of the citation.

  1. Pay the fine.
  2. Elect to attend:
    1. A driving school and pay a fine to avoid having points assessed. Here is the link for statewide approved basic driver improvement (BDI) course providers – https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/education-courses/driver-improvement-schools/basic-driver-improvement-bdi-find-approved-listing-bdi-course-providers/
    2. A wireless communications device safety course and pay a fine to avoid having points assessed. Here is the link for statewide approved course providers https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/education-courses/driver-improvement-schools/wireless-communications-device-course/
  3. Elect to contest the citation/infraction in court.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much will my citation/infraction cost?
The cost of your citation/infraction is set by the state or county, not the clerk’s office and the cost depends on what violation you were charged with and whether or not you pay it within the allotted 90 days after the date of the citation. If you pay the citation/infraction after the 90 days late fees will be assessed in addition to the original cost.

How do I make payment for my citation/infraction?
You can pay your citation/infraction in a number of ways:

  1. You can pay in person at the Bradford County Clerk’s Office, 945 North Temple Avenue, Starke, Florida 32091. We accept cash, cashier’s check, money orders, or a debit/credit card. An additional processing fee of 3.5% will be charged on all debit/credit card transactions.
  2. You can pay by phone by calling the MyFloridaCounty Traffic IVR at 1-855-984-1187.
  3. You can pay by mail by sending a cashier’s check or money order to the Bradford County Clerk’s Office, 945 North Temple Avenue, Starke, Florida 32091. Attn: Traffic Division. Make the check payable to Bradford Clerk of Court. You must also include a copy of your citation/infraction. DO NOT MAIL CASH. THE CLERK’S OFFICE DOES NOT EXCEPT PERSONAL, BUSINESS, OR ONLINE BANKING CHECKS.
  4. You can pay with a credit/debit card online within 90 days of receiving your citation/infraction by going to https://www.myfloridacounty.com/. This site will charge an additional 3.5% processing fee on all credit/debit transactions.

How do I pay my citation using the online service?
If you are not making the school election you have the full 90 days to pay your citation on the online service. This site will charge an additional 3.5% processing fee on all credit/debit transactions. To find your citation online follow the steps below.

  • Go to myfloridacounty.com.
  • Click on “Pay Now” in the Pay Citation box, this will take you to the “Find Your Ticket” page
  • Enter in information in the county, citation, and date of birth boxes only. Be sure to use your Caps Lock when entering your information. Don’t put any information in the “State” or “Driver’s License” box. Be sure to enter your Date of Birth like it is formatted in the example.

The citation information will only be on this site for 135 days. If you are past your 90 days a late fee may be reflected in the balance owed.

Any citation issued for failure to display, expired, or proof of registration and/or driver’s license cannot be paid online.

How do I set up a payment plan for my citation/infraction?
Our office does not offer a payment plan option. The fine must be paid in full at the time of payment within the 90 day time frame.

How do I file for an extension to pay?
The clerk’s office cannot grant an extension. If you are unable to pay the fine within the 90 day time frame allotted by the clerk’s office you must make a request to the Judge. You may email your request for extension to [email protected]. Please reference your name and citation number when making your request.

How do I elect to attend a basic driver improvement course and how do I find a list of approved basic driver improvement (BDI) courses?
There are several steps in this process:

  1. Contact the clerk’s office at (904) 966-6289 to determine if you are eligible for this election. You are NOT eligible for this election IF:
  2. You have selected this option in the last 12 months.
  3. You have selected this option 5 times in your lifetime.
  4. You hold a CDL license.
  5. You will have to sign an affidavit electing to attend a driving school and pay the clerk’s office the associated costs for this option within 90 days of the date of the citation. Click here to print the Driving School Affidavit. As of January 1, 2020 there is an 18% discount on the civil base fine for certain violations when electing driving school. Click here for our fine sheet. You will need to mail in the signed affidavit and the reduced fine amount plus the affidavit fee in the form of money order or cashier’s check by the 90 day compliance date. We do not except personal, business, or online banking checks.
  6. Contact and register with a State of Florida approved driving school and complete the course within 90 days from the date of the citation. The school will advise you of their associated costs for taking the approved driving program. An approved list of course providers can be found at https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/education-courses/driver-improvement-schools/basic-driver-improvement-bdi-find-approved-listing-bdi-course-providers/.
  7. You must provide the clerk’s office with a copy of the certificate of completion that will be issued to you by the school. Some course providers will send us your certification of completion on your behalf, but YOU must ensure we receive it within 90 days of the date of the citation. Failure to provide the certificate within 90 days will result in your license being suspended and late fees will be assessed.

How do I elect to attend a basic driver improvement course using the pay online service?
When using the online service to make the school election, you must follow the steps below within the first 30 days of receiving your citation. The driving school is optional until you make the election to complete a course. Failure to complete a driving course after the election has been made will result in additional penalties and a suspension entered your license.

  • Go to myfloridacounty.com.
  • Click on “Pay Now” in the Pay Citation box, this will take you to the “Find Your Ticket” page.
  • Enter in information in the county, citation, and date of birth boxes only. Be sure to use your Caps Lock when entering your information. Don’t put any information in the “State” or “Driver’s License” box. Be sure to enter your Date of Birth like it is formatted in the example.
  • In the first box, click on the “Attend Traffic School” box. Be sure to read the information in the second box. This is the Electronic Affidavit that you must confirm that you agree to take the course by clicking on the box shown.

A 4-hour Florida Defensive Driving course must be completed within 90 calendar days from the date the citation was issued. Failure to do so will result in additional penalties and a suspension entered on your license.

If you were cited for speeding through a school/construction zone or failing to obey a traffic control device, then you will not be able to elect the driving school using the pay online service. You may still make the school election but you will need to follow the mail in instructions listed above.

How do I elect to attend a wireless communications device course and how do I find a list of approved course providers?
There are several steps in this process:

  1. Contact the clerk’s office at (904) 966-6289 to determine if you are eligible for this election. You are NOT eligible for this election IF:
  2. This is your second offense. You may only choose to take a wireless communications device safety course if this is your first offense (Florida Statute 3.16.306(4)(a)).
  3. You will have to sign an affidavit electing to attend a driving school and pay the clerk’s office the associated costs for this option within 30 days of the date of the citation.
  4. Contact and register with a State of Florida approved driving school and complete the course within 90 days from the date of the citation. The school will advise you of their associated costs for taking the approved driving program. An approved list of course providers can be found at https://www.flhsmv.gov/driver-licenses-id-cards/education-courses/driver-improvement-schools/wireless-communications-device-course/
  5. You must provide the clerk’s office with a copy of the certificate of completion that will be issued to you by the school. Some course providers will send us your certification of completion on your behalf, but YOU must ensure we receive it within 90 days of the date of the citation. Failure to provide the Certificate within 90 days will result in your license being suspended and late fees will be assessed.


What happens if I don’t pay or complete the BDI course?
Penalties for failure to pay for your citation/infraction and/or to complete the BDI course on time will result in your driver’s license being suspended and points will be assessed on your driving record. Before your driver’s license can be reinstated, you must pay the citation in full at the clerk’s office and taking the BDI course is no longer an option.

How do I contest my citation/infraction in court?
You may contest your citation/infraction by appearing in court before a judge. To do so, you must email a request for a hearing to [email protected]. Include your name, citation number, and a brief statement requesting a hearing. All of our civil traffic hearings are done remotely through Zoom. Traffic hearings are held once a month for each agency in our county and are preset by the court. Once you make your request you will be assigned a court date and a notice will be sent to your email.

How do I obtain a copy of my driving record and points?
You may purchase a copy of your driving record at the clerk’s office or any Florida driver’s license office. There is a cost for a copy of your driving record.

If you have any questions, please call our office at (904) 966-6289.